Thursday, February 12, 2009

Five to remain under ISA - Malaysiakini

PUTRAJAYA - THE five Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) leaders will remain under Internal Security Act (ISA) detention for two years after the Federal Court on Wednesday dismissed their motion for a review of a previous panel's decision which denied their release.

They took the case to the Federal Court as a last resort after failing to get the previous panel of the same court to release them.

In an unanimous decision, Datuk Nik Hashim Nik Ab Rahman who sat with Justices Datuk S. Augustine Paul and Datuk Zulkefli Ahmad Makinuddin ruled that the motion filed by the five was not fit for review.

Nik Hashim said the previous Federal Court panel's decision was based on authorities in two cases, that of Mohamad Ezam Mohd Nor and Tan Sri Raja Khalid, which it was entitled to do.

"Whether the decision is right or wrong, it is not for this court to determine. If we make an attempt to do so, it will lead to another appeal and we are not prepared to do so. Thus, we dismiss the motion for review," he said.

The five Hindraf leaders are lawyers M. Manoharan, 46, who is also Kota Alam Shah state assemblyman, P. Uthayakumar, 46, V. Ganabatirau, 40, R. Kenghadharan, 40, and former bank officer K. Vasantha Kumar, 36.

They were held under the ISA on Dec 13, 2007, after being involved in street demonstrations in Kuala Lumpur on Nov 25 and issuing allegedly slanderous statements against the government.

On May 14, 2008, a Federal Court panel headed by Chief Judge of Malaya Tan Sri Alauddin Mohd Sheriff (now Court of Appeal President) dismissed their appeal after ruling that the order for their detention at the ISA camp in Kamunting, Taiping, by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, who was also the Internal Security Minister then, was lawfully executed.

On Feb 26, 2008, the Kuala Lumpur High Court rejected their application and ruled that the order for their detention issued by Mr Abdullah last Dec 13, 2007, had conformed to the law.

In their writ of habeas corpus to secure their release, the five claimed that their detention was unlawful because the grounds of detention stated in the orders were vague.

They named the minister and the commandant of the detention centre as respondents.

Counsel Karpal Singh, Gcbind Singh Deo and Ram Karpal Singh represented the five, while senior federal Counsel Datuk Abdul Wahab Mohamad acted for the respondents. -- BERNAMA/THE STAR


Anonymous said...

fuck the BN ! all of the UMNO fuckers are son of bitch

Anonymous said...

This is such a travesty of justice! These brave Hindraf leaders are penalized as if sub-humans just for defending freedom of speech and racism against the Indian communities. Shame on who still support MIC! And the internal squabbles in Hindraf too, wrestling power against each other. And where is Amnesty Malaysia in all these?

Katharina Sri (former: Noor Aza Othman)